Home

Mission

The Quebec Lesbian Network is a national organization in autonomous community action that has been working in the collective defense of rights since 1996. It brings together women of sexual diversity, that is to say, women who are cis , trans, two-spiritual, fluid gender, queer or non-binary, and who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, having fluid, asexual or in questioning. It represents these women from all regions of Quebec, from all ages, from all social classes, from all cultural communities, from different political points of view, with or without disabilities, etc.

The Network acts as a spokesperson and interlocutor with decision-making bodies, both political and social, with regard to the quality and living conditions of lesbians, women of sexual diversity and their communities. It is the only community organization in collective defense of rights that exclusively represents LGBTQ2S + women in Quebec who love women and it has considerable expertise. He is the central reference for issues affecting the various lesbian communities in Quebec.

The RLQ is a place of gathering, political and cultural activism, analyzes, reflections, exchanges, popular education and training.

History

QLN History

From its founding in 1996, the Quebec Lesbian Network emerges from a desire to offer an autonomous voice in the public arena to Quebec lesbians. If the genesis of the organization takes place during the Estates General of the gay and lesbian communities of Quebec, while about thirty women decide to come together to form a provisional committee, the decade following the creation of the RLQ is only confirm the relevance of the organization and its initiatives. From congresses to conferences, through launches, video co-productions and various networking activities for lesbians, the RLQ has intervened on many social and political issues over the years, ranging from the invisibility of older lesbians to recognition. legal system for same-sex couples.

QLN today

While the legal advances in recent years in the area of ​​LGBTQ + rights are hardly negligible, social equality remains a daily struggle. It must be admitted that women of sexual diversity tend to be invisible, even within the LGBTQ + community.

Annexed to this invisibility, several current issues affecting women of sexual diversity remain all the more complex; direct or indirect discrimination, internalized lesbophobia and lesbophobia, aging and housing for the elderly, coming-out, parenthood, sexual health, corrective rape, etc.

At a time when the demands of the LGBTQ + community are multiplying and converging on many points, it is incumbent on us to form a united front on certain issues, while emphasizing the uniqueness of women of sexual diversity. The great historical and social movements of the last decades, in connection with the defense of rights and LGBTQ + activism, have taught us one thing: despite our distinct demands, together we are stronger! It is in this contemporary context that the RLQ wishes to claim once again the inclusion of all lesbian realities of sexual diversity.

Accueil

Mission

Le Réseau des lesbiennes du Québec est un organisme national en action communautaire autonome qui œuvre au niveau de la défense collective des droits depuis 1996. Il regroupe les femmes de la diversité sexuelle c’est-à-dire, les femmes qu’elles soient cis, trans, bi-spirituelle, de genre fluide, queer, agenre ou non-binaires, et qui s’identifient comme lesbienne, gaie, bisexuelle, pansexuelle, ayant une sexualité fluide, asexuelle ou encore en questionnement. Il représente ces femmes de toutes les régions du Québec, de tous les âges, de toutes les classes sociales, de toutes les communautés culturelles, de différents points de vue politiques, avec ou sans handicap, etc.

Le Réseau agit à titre de porte-parole et d’interlocuteur auprès des instances décisionnelles, tant politiques que sociales, relativement à la qualité et aux conditions de vie des lesbiennes, des femmes de la diversité sexuelle et de leur communauté. Il est le seul organisme communautaire en défense collective des droits qui représente exclusivement les femmes LGBTQ2S+ du Québec qui aiment les femmes et il détient une expertise considérable. Il est la référence centrale en ce qui concerne les enjeux touchant les différentes communautés lesbiennes au Québec.

Le RLQ est un lieu de rassemblement, de militantisme politique et culturel, d’analyses, de réflexions, d’échanges, d’éducation populaire et de formation.

Histoire

Histoire du RLQ

Dès sa fondation en 1996, le Réseau des Lesbiennes du Québec émerge d’une volonté d’offrir une voix autonome sur la place publique aux lesbiennes québécoises. Si la genèse de l’organisme s’inscrit lors des états généraux des communautés gaies et lesbiennes du Québec, alors qu’une trentaine de femmes décident de se rassembler afin de former un comité provisoire, la décennie suivant la création du RLQ ne fait que confirmer la pertinence de l’organisme et de ses initiatives. De congrès en conférences, en passant par des lancements, des co-productions vidéographiques et diverses activités de réseautage pour lesbiennes, le RLQ est intervenu sur maints enjeux sociaux et politiques au fil des ans, allant de l’invisibilité des lesbiennes aînées à la reconnaissance légale des couples de même sexe.

Le RLQ aujourd'hui

Si les avancées juridiques des dernières années en matière de droits LGBTQ+ ne sont guère négligeables, l’égalité sociale demeure un combat quotidien. Force est d’admettre que les femmes de la diversité sexuelle tendent à être invisibilisées, et ce, même au sein de la communauté LGBTQ+.

Annexés à cette invisibilité, plusieurs enjeux actuels touchant les femmes de la diversité sexuelle demeurent d’autant plus complexes; discrimination directe ou indirecte, lesbophobie et lesbophobie intériorisée, vieillissement et hébergement pour aînés, coming-out, lesboparentalité, santé sexuelle, viols correctifs, etc.

À l’heure où les revendications de la communauté LGBTQ+ se multiplient et se rejoignent sur de nombreux points, il nous incombe de faire front commun sur certains dossiers, et ce, tout en soulignant la singularité des femmes de la diversité sexuelle. Les grands mouvements historiques et sociaux des dernières décennies, en lien avec la défense des droits et le militantisme LGBTQ+, nous ont appris une chose: malgré nos revendications distinctes, ensemble nous sommes plus fort.e.s! C’est dans ce contexte contemporain que le RLQ désire revendiquer une fois de plus l’inclusion de toutes les réalités lesbiennes de la diversité sexuelle.

Network organizational members and partners